Powered by Smartsupp
EnglishEnglish
This is some text inside of a div block.
section border
Kariega Foundation

Aid projects and volunteer programs in the Kariega Game Reserve

Kariega Foundation

Kariega Foundation to improve the quality of life of humans & animals

Gründungsjahr

1999

Ort und Anschrift

Port Elizabeth

What is the project about?

The Kariega Foundation, a non-profit organization, was born out of a desire to contribute to strengthening local communities around the Kariega Game Reserve. Sustainable species protection of wild animals and their conservation is also part of this. The Foundation works in collaboration with the Kariega Game Reserve in these key areas. The foundation is committed to increasing the quality of life and working with neighbors, in particular the wonderful people in Ekuphumleni, Marselle and Klipfontein. The Kariega Game Reserve is surrounded by impoverished African communities and is the largest employer in the Kenton-on-Sea region. It is committed to nature conservation, responsible tourism, social support and sustainable use of resources.

If you want

What is the goal of the project?

The goal of the Kariega Foundation is to improve the well-being of local communities through business development, education, and youth development; and to be united in our efforts to protect and preserve the natural heritage of the Eastern Cape, particularly the Kariega Wilderness.

Who benefits from it?

The local population and wilderness around the Kariega Game Reserve. The Eastern Cape is considered one of the oldest populated regions in South Africa. Settlement began with the settlers in the early 19th century and farms were quickly built. Tourism plays a special role there, as the many BIG 5 game reserves make this natural region an attractive destination. It is not without reason that they claim to be one of the best malaria-free wildlife regions in South Africa.

What are the challenges?

The biggest challenge is to reconcile travel and sustainability, i.e. the social, ecological and economic aspects.

What contribution does Ajimba make?

As an Ajimba team, we can arrange the tours organized by Kariega to our guests. On the one hand, this increases the reputation of the foundation and, on the other hand, the Kariega Foundation team can generate income through booking.

Is a visit possible for Ajimba guests?

Ajimba guests can book a tour organized by Kariega to the township in Kenton-on-Sea and visit the Meshak pottery on the way. Young people are trained there and people with disabilities also have the opportunity to get an education there. It's not just the visit and the odd souvenir that helps people, Mark Rushmere and the Kariega team support many social and educational projects and guests can participate in them if they wish. For example, a tour through the township promotes an understanding of living conditions and also shows these people the necessary respect. After all, we're guests in the Eastern Cape.

Galerie

No items found.
Border Top

Would you like to know more?

Please contact us using the simple contact form below. If you have a specific request for a trip, we recommend our Detailed inquiry form.
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
border-footer

EnglishEnglish
ajimba-logo-small
EnglishEnglish
This is some text inside of a div block.
section border

Hilfsprojekte und Volunteer Programme im Kariega Game Reserve

Kariega Foundation

Kariega Foundation zur Steigerung der Lebensqualität von Mensch & Tier

Gründungsjahr

1999

Ort und Anschrift

Port Elizabeth

Karte

Worum geht es im Projekt?

Die Kariega-Stiftung, eine gemeinnützige Einrichtung, wurde aus dem Wunsch geboren, einen Beitrag zur Stärkung der lokalen Gemeinden rund um das Kariega Game Reserve zu leisten. Nachhaltiger Artenschutz der Wildtiere und deren Erhaltung gehört ebenso dazu. Die Stiftung arbeitet in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kariega Game Reserve in diesen Schlüsselbereichen. Die Stiftung engagiert sich für die Steigerung der Lebensqualität und der Zusammenarbeit mit Nachbarn, vor allem den wunderbaren Menschen in Ekuphumleni, Marselle und Klipfontein. Das Kariega Game Reserve ist von verarmten afrikanischen Gemeinden umgeben und ist der größte Arbeitgeber in der Kenton-on-Sea-Region. Es wird sich für Naturschutz, verantwortungsbewussten Tourismus, sozialen Auftrieb und nachhaltige Ressourcennutzung engagiert.

Welches Ziel verfolgt das Projekt?

Das Ziel der Kariega-Stiftung ist es, dass Wohlergehen der lokalen Gemeinden durch Unternehmensentwicklung, Bildung und Jugendentwicklung zu verbessern; und in unseren Bemühungen zum Schutz und zur Erhaltung des natürlichen Erbes am östlichen Kap, vor allem der Kariega Wildnis, vereint zu werden.

Wer profitiert davon?

Die lokale Bevölkerung und Wildnis rund um das Kariega Game Reserve. Das Eastern Cape gilt als eine der am ältesten besiedelten Regionen in Südafrika. Mit den Siedlern im frühen 19. Jahrhundert begann eine Besiedelung und schnell wurden Farmen errichtet. Der Tourismus nimmt dort eine besondere Stellung ein, denn die vielen BIG 5 Game Reservate machen diese Naturregion zu einem attraktiven Ziel. So behauptet man dort nicht ohne Grund eine der besten malariafreien Wildlife Regionen in Südafrika zu sein.

Was sind die Herausforderungen?

Die größte Herausforderung besteht darin, Reisen und Nachhaltigkeit, also die sozialen, ökologischen und ökonomischen Aspekte in Einklang zubringen.

Welchen Beitrag leistet Ajimba?

Die von Kariega organisierten Touren können  wir als Ajimba Team an unsere Gäste vermitteln. Dadurch wächst zum einen der Bekanntheitsgrad der Stiftung und zum anderen  kann das Team von Kariega Foundation Einnahmen durch die Buchung generieren.

Ist ein Besuch für Ajimba-Gäste möglich?

Ajimba Gäste können durch Kariega organisiert eine Tour zum Township nach Kenton-on-Sea buchen und auf dem Weg die Töpferei von Meshak besuchen. Dort werden Jugendliche ausgebildet und auch Menschen mit Beeinträchtigungen haben dort eine Chance auf eine Ausbildung. Nicht nur der Besuch und das eine oder andere Souvenir helfen den Menschen, Mark Rushmere und das Team von Kariega unterstützen viele soziale und Bildungsprojekte und die Gäste können auf Wunsch daran teilhaben. Z.B. fördert eine Rundfahrt durch das Township das Verständnis der Lebensumstände und zeigt diesen Menschen auch den notwendigen Respekt. Schließlich sind wir Gäste im Eastern Cape.

Galerie

No items found.
border-top

Möchten sie mehr wissen?

Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns über das einfache Kontaktformular unten. Sollten Sie eine konkrete Anfrage für eine Reise haben, empfehlen wir Ihnen unser detailliertes Anfrageformular.
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
border-footer